Dreamin’


dreamingThe overnight movie show-

Your brain’s natural defragmenting program-

We sleep, our eyes dart back and forth, the stage is set from the normal or mundane to the fantastic and impossible. The time of the actual dream is usually less than half an hour, but often our perception is it lasted all night- and for some… they remember nothing.

Personally, I sometimes have very strange dreams, and sometimes I have dreams so realistic I wake up feeling strong emotions, and usually strong disappointment. Some of those dreams cause tears–especially when I dream about my mom.  Those dreams usually entail my mom being cured from Alzheimer’s and living at home again.

Friends have told me I have an incredible memory for dreams and K tells me I have the weirdest dreams she’s ever heard tell.  It’s almost impossible for me to describe a dream as if it were a story since locations change at will, time means nothing, and the characters may remain the same, but they are portrayed by different people at regular intervals.

What do our dreams tell us?

There are books, and websites that try to offer up explanations to the meanings of these dark-time vignettes. I tend to hold very little if nothing in the meanings attached to dream symbolism.

I received my BS in Psychology, and even during my studies I thought dream interpretation was more subjective than the opinions of both sides of Congress. I was required to keep a dream journal.  I remember waking up at al hours of the night and jotting down as much as I could remember in a little notebook I kept on my nightstand.

Some dreams I have been able to remember for decades: the miniature moose wrestling contest in my apartment, the trip across the Hoover Dam where a family member fell off, the dream of having the perfect family-perfect house-perfect job…

This week’s dream of record was a jumble: hotel rooms, cars, waking up in the wrong hotel room, going to my room to find out it was now a gift shop, waiting in line in my PJs at the front desk–in SOMOLIA.  WTF?

Recurring dreams or themes are pretty common.  For me it involves going back to Brophy as an adult to get a second high school diploma, flying at will, getting into elevators that don’t work quite right or travel at impossible angles.

Every now and then I’ll know I’m dreaming while in the dream.  I usually will fly around in that situation…

Well, I just thought I’d write about dreams…

Leave a comment